Frequency of property inspections?

Frequency of property inspections?

10:45 AM, 14th June 2022, About 2 months ago 11

Text Size

How frequently do people on Property118 inspect their properties? I usually do it six months into a new tenancy and if all looks well then once a year.

I am very careful with tenant selection. A niece of mine rents a flat (three years in possession) and her landlord’s agent insists on quarterly inspections. Nothing has ever been found amiss by the agent.

This is inconvenient and I think over the top and I would suggest goes against the tenant’s right to quiet enjoyment.

I would be interested to see what other members of this forum think.

Many thanks

Paul



Comments

Michael Johnson - Amzac Estates View Profile

14:07 PM, 14th June 2022, About 2 months ago

As a general rule we do not carry out inspections as personally I think its an invasion of privacy, although I know lots of landlords who inspect every three months. I also understand the reasoning behind regular inspections such as maintenance, pets or people being moved in without permission.
We will carry out an inspection if one of our contractors reports anything to us or another tenant or neighbour contacts us.
However Rent Smart Wales are introducing inspections as part of statutory licence obligations and their requirements are once per year for a non HMO and twice a year for a HMO. So this may seem a reasonable timeframe assuming you have the time!

Ann

14:16 PM, 14th June 2022, About 2 months ago

Our inspections were completed quarterly for the first couple of years. Once we were satisfied the tenants were maintaining the properties to a good standard, and trust was built, we relaxed them to every 6 months. With Covid, that went to once a year or as and when we could.

We've had all of our tenants for 5 years now and are happy that they care for the property and aren't going to do anything detrimental.

As a result of a bad experience with renting our ex-home through an agent, the property being redecorated in garish gloss paint and very neglected, we vowed when managing our rental portfolio that inspections would be regular and thorough.

Anthony Endsor

16:47 PM, 14th June 2022, About 2 months ago

I always inform my tenants I will be carrying out quarterly inspections and it is never a problem as long as you say from the outset. Anything longer than that and you're asking for trouble, particularly with new tenancies.

Stephen Sale

16:54 PM, 14th June 2022, About 2 months ago

My new buildings insurance policy requires quarterly inspections for HMOs with written proof of the inspection i.e. will need to complete a written inspection report.

DC

7:41 AM, 15th June 2022, About 2 months ago

For the past 12 years all of our properties have been inspected quarterly.

Simon ada

8:31 AM, 15th June 2022, About 2 months ago

The maximum frequency for inspections is once every four weeks. Notice of an inspection must be given to the tenant at least 48 hours before the inspection, and not more than 14 days in advance. apartments for sale in Abu Dhabi

David

10:20 AM, 15th June 2022, About 2 months ago

If you do not inspect regularly, you will have no defence against s11 disrepair claims, fitness for human habitation claims, tenant turning the property into an unlicensed HMO, tenant sub-letting/sharing the space with someone with no right to rent, claims from neighbouring properties about leaks from your property etc etc. You will probably invalidate your insurance and it could cost you thousands in penalties/fines. Quarterly inspections are the norm.

Laura Delow

11:44 AM, 15th June 2022, About 2 months ago

Under normal circumstances, in year 1 we like quarterly inspections & thereafter 6 monthly if kept in good order but our AST must reflect the frequency otherwise we could inadvertently be in breach of the default clause in our Buildings Insurance of 3 monthly (or 6 monthly if the AST states this - but no longer than 6 monthly). Irrespective of buildings insurances clauses, regular inspections seems to keep everyone (us, the tenants & the agents) on their toes, plus small repairs get picked up earlier rather than later when it might be more more expensive to put right or before it cause consequential damage.

Sue Marven

18:34 PM, 16th June 2022, About 2 months ago

Your obligation as a landlord is to keep the property safe and in good order. It is not intrusive to visit every quarter and it helps build a good relationship with your tenant. I discuss any work required when I’m there too.

Jessie Jones View Profile

8:57 AM, 18th June 2022, About 2 months ago

No fixed schedule for me. I have some wonderful tenants and some dirty ones, and I treat the two differently.
Those who keep their homes immaculate get no visits whatsoever, unless it is at their request. But it would be a rare thing if they didn't call for me to go round at least most years, say for a dripping tap or a door that is sticking.
Other tenants seem to just need visiting every few weeks because they have broken something else.
The ones to be wary of are those who don't report maintenance issues to you. I once saw a broken electric socket that was unreported, and so they get regular inspections.
Nottingham City Council insist on a documented personal visit not less than 6 months apart, or face an unlimited fine. This is one of the terms of their Selective Licensing scheme and is Orwellian in nature, but that is Labour Councils for you !
Notably, in my area, Housing Associations don't inspect at all, other than their statutory Gas Safe obligations. And when people get mortgages to buy their own homes, Banks don't do further inspections for the next 25 years !

1 2

Leave Comments

In order to post comments you will need to Sign In or Sign Up for a FREE Membership

or

Don't have an account? Sign Up

Landlord Tax Planning Book Now