Complaint going in to the BBC over attitude towards landlords

by Readers Question

13:46 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

Complaint going in to the BBC over attitude towards landlords

Make Text Bigger
Complaint going in to the BBC over attitude towards landlords

I have to say that I was disgusted to read the article on this mornings BBC news page with regards to how much landlords are ‘lining’ their pockets from housing benefit claimants…. the title ‘Private landlords double housing benefit haul to £9.3bn’ suggest to me that private landlords are somehow stealing this money! bbc

Clearly landlords we should be buying property to rent out free of charge.

Anyway, I will be making a complaint to the BBC as it is nothing more than ‘Landlord bashing’, and maybe if other people feel strongly they should too… link to this ‘report’ is below.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-37132249

Mark



Comments

Mike Amapola

14:27 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

Hello Mark. Sadly I recall a similar reason for such a complaint to the BBC only a couple of months ago. In short, the BBC don't care about complaints, and despite taking the complaints procedure to higher levels the result was still the same. Im sure a number of other landlords took the same action but we were fobbed off none the same. However, good luck with it. P.s can you remember the day and time of the news report so we can check it out on catch-up. Thanks, Mike

Matt Elder

14:30 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

I saw a similar article in the Guardian which put in this extra idea that if it was just being paid to housing associations, the bill would be £1.5b cheaper. I doubt however that takes account:

1) Short fall not paid to PRS landlords when councils are telling people to stay in their PRS accommodation til the bailiffs come, otherwise they will not be deemed to be 'homeless'.
2) Damages to PRS houses by housing benefit is paid out of landlords back pockets and they just absorb this loss. In Housing Association, extra money is given to cover those damages.

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2016/aug/20/private-landlords-9bn-housing-benefit-taxpayers-national-housing-federation-report

Gunga Din

14:33 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

Added my complaint. The second para. in the report is the real news. The first, and the populist, sensationalist headline, are the inevitable consequence.

Gary Nock

14:48 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

The BBC are a bunch of left wing Corbyn Supporting socialists funded through the taxpayer via the TV Licence? As the Labour Party has been hijacked by Momentum do not be surprised that they have not infiltrated the BBC in positions of power and influence. Independent? Not a chance.

Michael Freer

14:52 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

There is a possibility your emotions got the better of you when you read the article, it does have an attention grabbing headline and pre-amble, which is what the media in general is aiming for. Reading it all the way through, it is ultimately balanced as there is input from the NLA.

Somebody once said to me "pick your battles". This may not necessarily be the best one to go for, although I wish you all the best and urge you to go ahead if you remain feeling unhappy with the article.

Ian Narbeth

15:04 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

The Guardian article starts by asserting: "Taxpayers handed over £9.3bn in housing benefit to Britain’s private landlords last year, " In fact they handed it to tenants some of whom did not pay it to landlords.

The NHF calculated that if all those housed in the private rented sector lived in affordable housing, taxpayers would save £1.5bn a year.

Lies damned lies and statistics!

Note that it does not say "all those in receipt of housing benefit". Plenty of people are housed in the private rented sector who would not want to live in so called affordable housing. You might as well say that Britain's diners could save £X billion a year if everyone ate at fast food restaurants.

What do we have to do to get through to our thick-headed MPs (some of them allegedly Conservative) that the PRS is (a) on the whole doing a good job (b) is under attack from the Treasury (c) can't easily be replaced and (d) needs support not discouragement?

BTW, nothing in the Grauniad piece about the highly paid CEOs of HAs: http://www.spectator.co.uk/2015/07/housing-associations-have-failed-to-build-houses/

Kathy white

16:08 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

I was absolutely infuriated when I heard the BBC news program commenting about landlords, 'lining' their pockets with public money.
You could then argue that any benefits received and spent in shops is lining the pockets of shopkeepers or lining the pockets of supermarkets. Benefits, including housing benefit are paid to people who are then supposed to use the benefits to pay for things, including rent.
It's absolutely ridiculous for the BBC to insinuate that landlords or doing anything else, but trying to get paid the rent they are owed for providing a home to people.
I am sick and tired of the media landlord bashing. It just shows how ignorant they are about what is involved in renting property. They do not seem to address or care about the fact that landlords invest and risk huge amounts of money to buy properties and then work very hard to maintain them, to keep them occupied, to collect rents and to pay their mortgages.

Paul Goulder

16:21 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

The problem is these idiots don't realise it is the tenant who gets the housing benefit .not the house or the landlord or tesco

Mark Lynham

16:36 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

i dont expect to get anywhere with this by the way i just wanted to post it for all to see as just thought it was a disgusting headline...... and also wanted my little voice to be heard at the BBC ...

Paul Green

16:48 PM, 22nd August 2016
About 2 years ago

9 Billion is that all , what about corporate welfare that's omitted from the news completely. Like the £93bn handshake: businesses pocket & huge subsidies and tax breaks. The
Guardian’s analysis reveals that hidden subsidies, direct grants and tax breaks to big business amount to £3,500 a year given by each UK household. Tell the BBC to report on that truth as to we're all our taxpayers money goes. It's called a transfer of wealth, basically corporations have access to the treasury. Take the banking crisis a bailout that cost the UK taxpayer how much? ... The Treasury has pledged to spend £1.2 trillion on the bail-out since the crisis ...Don't believe the hype the world Is Upside down its all propaganda..,

1 2

Leave Comments

Please Log-In OR Become a member to reply to comments or subscribe to new comment notifications.

Forgotten your password?

OR

BECOME A MEMBER

BTL property pick

The Landlords Union

Become a Member, it's FREE

Our mission is to facilitate the sharing of best practice amongst UK landlords, tenants and letting agents

Learn More