Should I review my landlord, or will they withhold rent deposit?

by Readers Question

19:20 PM, 21st May 2015
About 4 years ago

Should I review my landlord, or will they withhold rent deposit?

Make Text Bigger
Should I review my landlord, or will they withhold rent deposit?

I’m a tenant, student in Newcastle. I’m due to move out of my property in a few months and I’ve been recommended by my student union to review my landlord.

In general, he was okay, although he took ages to replace a fridge and our house was constantly cold. I’d be honest, so I’m not worried about legal issues. I am concerned that he’ll withhold my deposit though. Should I review my landlord

Is he allowed to? I want to give future tenants some help, but it’s difficult to ignore that he has so much of my money.

Help please!

Thanks

Alan



Comments

Mark Alexander

19:26 PM, 21st May 2015
About 4 years ago

Hi Alan

Providing you are honest I see no reason why you should be afraid to review your landlord. It may well be that he/she is approached by your next landlord or mortgage lender and hopefully he/she will be equally with responses.

Whether or not you landlord likes you, or for that matter your review, should make not a jot of difference to your entitlement to get your deposit back. This will depend on any damage you have caused and whether you owe any rent.

Having said that, if you choose to be picky then your landlord may be equally and picky in terms of charging you for little things that he/she may have otherwise been prepared to overlook.

If you think your landlord unfairly holds onto your deposit then you are entitled to go to arbitration and it is then up to your landlord to prove his/her case for holding onto YOUR money. The default position is that you are entitled to have your money back unless your landlord can reasonably prove that you have caused damage or run up rent arrears.
.

Anthony Endsor

11:37 AM, 22nd May 2015
About 4 years ago

Ditto Mark's comments 🙂

To be honest I'd encourage you to review your landlord. I believe it is a good thing for tenants and landlords to review each other, in order to help others. Be as honest and detailed as possible. It doesn't affect your legal right for the return of your deposit. If everyone did this it would soon sort out the rogue landlords and tenants.

matchmade

12:23 PM, 22nd May 2015
About 4 years ago

I also ditto Mark's comments. I'd also suggest you consider showing a little forbearance on the issue of the house being cold. If the house is an old one with solid walls, there's little the landlord can do, and you shouldn't have unrealistic expectations. Double-glazing and wall insulation take up to 25-30 years to pay for themselves so are not practical propositions. If however there's demonstrable neglect of the property which makes it cold - poor-maintained windows, no draughtproofing, little or no loft insulation - then that should be commented on, as they are not expensive measures.

Jireh Homes

21:17 PM, 23rd May 2015
About 4 years ago

HI Alan - ditto above. Be honest and if you struggled to keep the property warm then say so. This is not a criticism and would not be obvious to prospective tenants viewing in late summer, but explain why house felt cold. Allan


Leave Comments

Please Log-In OR Become a member to reply to comments or subscribe to new comment notifications.

Forgotten your password?

OR

BECOME A MEMBER

Millennials stumble on the Property Ladder

The Landlords Union

Become a Member, it's FREE

Our mission is to facilitate the sharing of best practice amongst UK landlords, tenants and letting agents

Learn More